close
Legal

Mississippi becomes the 37th state to allow access to medical cannabis

Mississippi Governor Signs Medical Cannabis Legalization Act

On Wednesday, Mississippi became the 39th state in the nation and the third in the Deep South to legalize medical marijuana after Republican Gov. Tate Reeves signed a medical cannabis bill into law. The law takes effect immediately, and the market could be launched before the end of the year.

The law allows patients, with medical certification, to purchase up to 3,5 grams of cannabis flower or up to one gram of cannabis concentrate per day from licensed dispensaries. Patients will not be able to purchase more than three ounces of cannabis flower per month. Flower will be limited to 30% THC, while concentrate products will be limited to 60% THC. The measure does not limit the number of licensed dispensaries that can be operational at any given time. Cannabis purchases will be subject to 7% state sales tax and an additional 5% excise tax.

"Access to marijuana is long overdue for patients in Mississippi," said Jax James, NORML's state policy manager. “The overwhelming majority of voters voted in favor of this policy change over a year ago, and for the past 14 months the will of the people has been denied. »

https://norml.org/blog/2022/02/03/mississippi-becomes-37th-state-to-provide-medical-cannabis-access/

In November 2020, voters in Mississippi decided between two separate ballot measures that sought to legalize access to medical cannabis – one promoted by local activists and another more restrictive measure placed on the ballot by lawmakers. Seventy-three percent of voters voted in favor of the citizens' initiative. However, Republican lawmakers later challenged the legitimacy of the state's voter initiative process. Members of the Supreme Court ultimately upheld that challenge — a decision that overturned the 2020 vote and barred citizens from placing future measures on the ballot.

to read :  Legalization in the US baffles China

Under the new law, state regulators have 60 days after enactment to begin issuing registry ID cards to eligible patients. Officials must begin providing licenses for dispensary operations within 150 days.

The law allows qualified patients to purchase up to 3,5 grams of cannabis flower or up to one gram of cannabis concentrate per day from licensed dispensaries. Patients will not be able to purchase more than three ounces of cannabis flower per month. Flower will be limited to 30% THC, while concentrate products will be limited to 60% THC. The measure does not limit the number of licensed dispensaries that can be operational at any given time. Cannabis purchases will be subject to 7% state sales tax and an additional 5% excise tax.

While Ms. James acknowledges that the new law represents a significant step forward for the Mississippi patient community, she has also expressed concerns about several of its provisions and omissions. “We remain concerned that lawmakers have seen fit to add unnecessary taxes on cannabis products, that patients are prohibited from growing limited amounts of cannabis at home for personal use, and that people with chronic pain can only access cannabis products after using more dangerous and addictive substances like opioids,” she said.


Tags : LawMississippiUS
weedmaster

The author weedmaster

Media broadcaster and communications manager specializing in legal cannabis. Do you know what they say? knowledge is power. Understand the science behind cannabis medicine, while staying up to date with the latest health related research, treatments and products. Stay up to date with the latest news and ideas on legalization, laws, political movements. Discover tips, tricks and how-to guides from the most seasoned growers on the planet, including the latest research and findings from the scientific community on the medical qualities of cannabis.